Dinner in The Dark

Some time ago, I decided to finally use one of the remaining presents from last Christmas (I already hate myself for using these words since I’m now going to be stuck with the song in my head for the rest of the day, but what can you do) – a voucher for Dinner in the Dark.
I want to give you a short disclaimer first –  I am not going to state the dishes served or the exact course of actions, so if you expected this – sorry to disappoint you. However, I sincerely think that not knowing what is going to happen is part of the fun, and ruining your experience is not the aim of this blog post.

One thing that has to be mentioned beforehand – arranging your Dinner in the Dark might be challenging for spontaneous people. I checked the available dates on a Thursday for the upcoming week and was lucky to get the last two seats on Tuesday, since the rest of the week was fully booked. Just keep that in mind if you want to go on a Friday or Saturday or are looking for a last minute anniversary gift.

But let’s start with the night now, shall we?

After arriving at the location, you get registered and served some sparkling wine while waiting to enter the dark room. Once you are ready to do so, you will be picked up by one of the lovely waiters. I am not going to lie, seeing nothing is weird. Very weird. For some reason I thought that you would still be able to see something, like you do during night time after your eyes have adjusted to the darkness, but you don’t. And it gets dark very quickly, so be prepared for not seeing within seconds.

Once you get used to your black surrounding and sit happily on your chair, i.e. your new home (getting back to it after standing up and not knocking over someone’s table is the best feeling in the world), you get the chance to explore the things placed on your table. However, orientating in complete darkness is easier than expected. I’m still proud of myself for actually being able to eat everything using knife and fork. Not going to lie though, I have no idea if I actually finished my dishes or the food just landed all over the table.

As mentioned before, I do not want to discuss the food served, let me just say this much: the dishes served are enjoyable and if wanted vegetarian, and if you recognize which type of soup you are getting served, please feel seriously proud of yourself.

After getting back into the illuminated world, you see the dishes served and the waiters helping you out during the evening. You can also get a last glass of sparkling wine or any other refreshment if you would like to stay for a little longer and discuss your experience. All in all, Dinner in the Dark is a unique experience I definitely enjoyed having. I have to admit that I expected it to be a lot harder than it really is, since everyone I talked to beforehand rambled on for hours about the difficulty of eating without seeing, and if you are a fuzzy eater I could imagine you having problems with not knowing what is being served. However, I definitely would not want to miss this special night.

For more information, feel free to check the Vier Sinne homepage (in German).

Have you ever attended Dinner in the Dark or anything similar? What did you think about it?

What do you think?

