How to stay fit when travelling

Luckily, I am in a position where I get to travel from time to time. Since I realized that if I don’t workout on a kind of regular basis,  I get the grumpiest person to wander this planet, I had to find ways to incorporate fitness into my everyday life – no matter where I am. This is also mainly what I do when I am not travelling – I do not like gyms, and my schedule varies heavily, so I don’t want to sign up to a weekly class of something since I know that the pressure of having to go there every week would stress me more than it would help me. And now, without further ado, here are my ways of staying fit when travelling.

Walk!
Depending on where you are – and which type of shoes you are wearing – you might want to consider walking more. I know that it is very tempting to just take the subway everywhere you go, but in some cases, it might even be faster if you just walk somewhere rather than waiting for an over-crowded train. Additionally, it allows you to not only stay fit, but you also see more of the city you stay in, and maybe find unique spots you would have missed otherwise. When I am travelling for leisure purposes, I walk basically everywhere anyway, but when I’m on a business trip I sometimes have to remind myself that walking is a nice alternative to just hopping into a taxi and ignoring my surroundings.

Run!
When you want to do sports when on vacation, running is probably the easiest way to do this. Running gear does not take up a lot of space in your suitcase, and unless it rains outside, nothing can stop you from your workout, no matter where you are. I personally am not a fan of running – never was, and never will be – but I always admire people who go on a run first thing in the morning. Plus, it allows you to see sides of the place you are at you might have missed otherwise, so maybe even intentionally get lost from time to time.

Watch!
My personal favourite thing to do are little workouts using bodyweight only. You don’t need any equipment, can do them anywhere and theoretically even in your pyjamas – if you don’t tend to sweat, otherwise I suggest an extra pair of clothing. I used to love doing YouTube – workouts – they are quick and tell you everything you need to know. But over the past months I’ve realized that I don’t love them as much as I used to – I now prefer to do some exercises at my own pace rather than cramming 20 different ones into ten minutes. However, since I still like to watch them in case I need inspiration for new exercises, I’ve decided to share some of my favourite videos with you – maybe they will get you motivated aswell!



How do you like to stay fit? Let me know in the comments!

xx, K (:

2 thoughts on “How to stay fit when travelling

What do you think?

