Quick Vegatable Bowl

Did you ever forget to go shopping and just had to go with whatever food you found in the flat? Well, to me this happens more often than I’d like to admit, and yesterday was one of those days. I tend to buy exactly the food I need, so usually when I don’t go shopping, my only alternative is pasta and tomato sauce. But for some reason – I honestly don’t know what happened  there –  I actually had some food left in my fridge. And those leftovers turned out so amazing that I now want to share with you what I’ve done.

I was not that hungry, so I had enough with vegetables only, which again is quite a surprise. If you feel like you need something else, I would recommend some couscous or something similar. Oh, and by the way, this was for 1 person, just so you know how much it’s going to be.

 

Ingredients:

half a sweet potato
around 20 cherry tomatoes
100 grams chickpeas
1 lime
1 red onion

 

DSC01704

 

Preparation:

First of all, you want to prepare some boiling water in a pan. While the water is heating up, you can start with your main task for this dish – chopping. Start with the sweet potato and cut it into rather small pieces – mine were around 1x1x0,5 cm big – this was not intentional, but I did not manage to make them square shaped. As soon as this is done, put some salt and the sweet potato in the pan and let it boil. In the meanwhile, chop the other ingredients however you feel like. After about 10 minutes , your sweet potato should be soft – if not, give it some more minutes. Afterwards, get rid of the remaining water in the pan and add the tomatoes, the rinsed chickpeas and the onion. Add some lime juice and leave everything on the oven on low heat for some minutes. And you’re done!

 

DSC01708

 

Did you ever create an amazing dish more or less by accident? Let me know – I always love to get some inspiration!

xx, K (:

What do you think?

