The Poke Bowl – Austrian Edition

Hello again,

I actually didn’t share any of my cooking with you lately, so I thought it was about time to do that again! Quite a while ago, I saw this amazing thing online called poke bowl. It’s a traditional Hawaiian dish, and it looked absolutely delicious, so I had to try it myself as soon as possible. However, as I went to the shop, I realized that in Austria they don’t sell edible raw tuna or octupus – which are the main ingredients in a traditional poke bowl. Since I was really looking forward to my food already, I decided to go for it anyway and just swap some ingredients for Austrian ones. And surprisingly enough, it turned out pretty amazing! I also really liked preparing it in late springtime as all ingredients apart from the rice are uncooked, which makes it an amazing summer lunch or dinner – and also means that I won’t make it again for at least another month or so, since on the other side of the world, we are currently having grey and cold winter *sadface*.

Also, I really want to apologize for the quality of the photos in this post – i put all of my photos on an external hard drive, deleted them, the hard drive died, the photos were gone. After a while, my lovely boyfriend managed to somehow get them back, but for some reason they are much smaller now than they used to be – hence the horrible image quality. Since I loved this dish so much  – and can’t recreate it anymore as now in Australia, they don’t have the foods I used to compensate for the lack of Hawaiian foods in Austria – I decided to use the horrible pictures anyway. I hope they can give you an idea of what it looks like anyway! (:

 

Ingredients (for 2 persons)

150 grams Jasmine rice
1 ripe avocado
7-10 radishes
leek
200 grams smoked trout (without fish bones)
soy sauce

 

poke bowl - kairamkairam

 

Preparation

We start with the heart of the dish – the fish. Before you do anything else, you want to shred the trout into reasonably small pieces. If they are about 1 cm wide, you are about right – but remember, it’s shredding, not cutting, so if some are smaller and others larger, it doesn’t matter. Put the pieces in a bowl and add just enough soy sauce so every piece of trout gets some – the fish are already dead, they don’t need to be swimming in soy sauce anymore. Add some chili and mix up the whole thing. If you feel like you need more soy souce, add more until you are satisfied, but remember that soy sauce has quite an intense flavour, and you still want to taste the fish aswell. As soon as this is done, put the smoked trout in the fridge and leave it there until you serve everything – for me, that was about 20 minutes, but if you want to intensify the taste, you can leave it a little longer.

After preparing the trout, start boiling water to cook the rice. I am sure that everyone of you knows how to do that, so I will not talk any more about it. However, I have one tip when it comes to preparing rice – I like to add some herbs – does not really matter which ones, just use what you feel like – to give the rice a little more flavour on its own. Here, I added some ground celery, and I have to say, it was pretty amazing. As soon as the rice is on the stove, the chopping begins. As you can see on the picture, I could not really be bothered to cut small pieces, and to be honest, it quite fit to the recipe. Just cut the avocado, the radishes and the leek into small-ish pieces, and you’re good to go.

Once the rice is finished, put some of it in a bowl and add trout, radishes, avocado and leek on top. Enjoy!

 

I hope you like this recipe, and I will see you again very soon!

xx, K (:

 

One thought on “The Poke Bowl – Austrian Edition

What do you think?

