#2 – Chocolates and Water

Week number two in Brisbane! The first days of the week I spent mostly at university, getting to know a little bit more about my studies, Australia and also a few more people. Turns out, I was really lucky to have met someone doing their whole master’s here aswell so early on, as there are not too many Europeans doing that! Still haven’t met anybody who studies the same thing as me though, so I’m really looking forward to the beginnig of the actual classes next week – also in terms of workload, since after looking at the syllabi, I don’t feel like it is going to be as easy as I thought in the beginning – wish me luck!

As it only was orientation week, and most of the organisational stuff is done by now or happily being procrastinated until god-knows-when, I finally had some time off to explore Brisbane. And as I mentioned yesterday on my Instagram, the city really starts to grow on me – it just has such a cool vibe to it, and everybody I met so far seems incredibly relaxed. Plus, after the first week of misery, we actually have quite nice winter weather – which basically is the same as summer in Austria, so at least I don’t have to get fear of missing out on that ;)

psx_20160724_194809.jpg

On Friday, some friends and I took a train to the Gold Coast – lovely beach, although I have to admit, not quite as lovely as the Mexican Caribbean, which probably spoilt every beach for me for the rest of my life. There were some surfers there, and as much as I love the idea of me being this really cool surfer chick, it actually looked really hard, and I’m pretty sure that I could not balance on that board for one second.Going home was rather exhausting, as the train had some technical issues and the 80 minutes journey ended up taking about three hours – but – in order to feed our hungry stomachs after this endless journey, we went to the Night Noodle Markets in South Bank. This made me incredibly happy, since I finally got to eat tasty Asian dumlings again – and you cannot believe how much I missed them!

psx_20160724_195134.jpg

Saturday lead to the realization that firstly – Chinatown in Brisbane is quite dissapointing when it comes to everything apart from food – and secondly, Brisbane people love their desert. No matter where you go, some amazing shop will try to get you to buy a donut, ice cream or just pure chocolate – which now has me thinking that I will eather be broke after a month (why does everything food-related have to be so expensive?) or chronically depressed because I look at chocolate constantly without buying it. On the other hand, maybe this is the motivation needed to finally finish my resume – a task I successfully did not do for the whole week!

As mentioned before, classes commence next week, so we’ll see how that goes – I just hope the other students are rather nice and the lecturers are not too fussy about attendance.. What have you been up to in the past week? Let me know!

 

xx, K (:

psx_20160724_194636.jpgpsx_20160724_194511.jpgpsx_20160724_195358.jpg

What do you think?

