A Day at the Ekka

If you are currently in Brisbane, there is no way you get around the Royal Queensland Show, lovingly called Ekka by all the Brissies. Already during my first days in the city, I’ve heard of this fantastic event and was told that it was the place to be, so when it finally arrived, there was no stopping me. Originally an agricultural show, the Ekka nowadays is like a combination of a variety of things that have nothing in common, but for some reason, it works. From rides to theme park food, from farm animals to crops and international food stalls, fashion and music elements and an absolutely breathtaking evening show, to me the programme seemed a lot like the organizers could not quite decide on one topic so they just did it all – and it’s fabulous.

Before going there, I was a little sceptical since most people were saying that you should go once, but it’s nothing extraordinary. I personally have to disagree – but maybe it’s just because I’ve never seen anyone as proud as a goat presenting all of the trophies s/he just got. It’s such a fun environment, and although I’ve been taken to the city, the country girl in me still gets ridiculously excited about sheep, pigs and cows – although they also slightly terrify me. The rides are not exactly cheap, but even if you don’t go on any, you can just get yourself a showbag and loads of unhealthy food, look at the blinking lights and enjoy the atmosphere.

My personal favourite however was the evening show, topped by the fireworks. I’m an events person, so if I see a great show where everything from music to lights to the people involved at least seems to work out perfectly, I am happy. And it did – hot wheels and cowboys are a great way to use all clichees of inviting the country to the city. Nonetheless, nothing beats the firework. Beautifully arranged with fantastic music, I don’t even want to know how much it must have cost to let the sky sparkle in the way it did – I’ve never seen anything so creative when it comes to fireworks!

All in all, as you might have guessed, I had the most amazing day at the Ekka – so if you’re in Brisbane or surroundings, grab some people and join the show – it’s still on until Sunday.

 

xx, K (:

ekka_kairamkairam

ekka_kairamkairam

ekka_kairamkairam

ekka_kairamkairam

ekka_kairamkairam

ekka_kairamkairam

ekka_kairamkairam

ekka_kairamkairam

ekka_kairamkairam

ekka_kairamkairam

2 thoughts on “A Day at the Ekka

What do you think?

