#8 – The Brisbane Festival

September as arrived, and along with spring the Brisbane Festival has taken over the city. Since I couldn’t magically find a job after arriving, I decided to look for another way to spend my time in order to not completely waste my time on Youtube, so I signed up to become a volunteer at the Brisbane Festival. I’m not sure if I told you before but I really enjoy all types of events, especially arts, music, food and sports ones (are there any others left?), so I wanted to get back to working in the field while being in Australia. While the tasks I get to do are not particularly exciting, I thouroughly enjoy my time at the festival. If you haven’t already, check out there programme or just come along to the Arcadia (that’s in South Bank right by the wheel where all the events are), have a nice drink or food from the stalls and if you’re lucky, enjoy some live music. If you’re in for some nice free concerts – and have your lunch break close to the CBD at 12 pm – check out the City Hall Concerts. The following three Tuesdays there’s always one free concert at the city hall at 12 pm. I’d say I’ll see you there, but unlucky me has to go to class at that time. Nonetheless let me know if you enjoyed them!

One of the perks of being a volunteer is that you actually get to see some shows. On Friday I was lucky enough to catch Blanc de Blanc, a humorous take on a burlesque show. I thoroughly enjoyed it, it was funny, the dancers were incredible and they had two amazing acrobatic pieces in it. Keep in mind however that it’s for people over 18, so if you get easily disturbed by seeing people without loads of clothing, maybe keep looking for another show.

As you might have guessed from the amount I just wrote about the Brisbane Festival the volunteering took over quite a large part of my week, so apart from that there isn’t really that much to talk about. Have you been to Brisbane Festival? What was your favourite part?

I hope you all have a wonderful week!

xx, K (:

 

weekbyweek_brisbane festival_kairamkairam weekbyweek_brisbane festival_kairamkairam weekbyweek_brisbane festival_kairamkairam weekbyweek_brisbane festival_kairamkairam weekbyweek_brisbane festival_kairamkairam weekbyweek_brisbane festival_kairamkairam weekbyweek_brisbane festival_kairamkairam weekbyweek_brisbane festival_kairamkairam

One thought on “#8 – The Brisbane Festival

What do you think?

