#10 – Concerts, Colds and the Music of Horror

In case you follow me on my Instagram, you might have seen that I had the amazing chance to see several concerts this week. I love music, and even more, I love to find new artists and explore all of their stuff. While I have to admit that seeing a concert when you actually know all of the lyrics is more fun, concerts and especially festivals are a great way to maybe find your new favourite artist – at least that’s what I did several times now. My newest find is Holly Throsby. I got to go to her concert and absolutely fell in love with her music. The only thing that makes me a little sad is that she is even more awesome live than on record, which is why I am currently on a hunt for every live version of her songs I can possibly find – so if you have any, let me know.

As Brisbane weather still is not quite what you expect of Australia as an European – and I still don’t manage to dress accordingly – I got a cold this week. I thought I got over it already, but right now, I’m feeling worse than ever, which is why I had to cancel my planned trip to the Gold Coast, making me even more excited for the mid-semester break when I can finally get out of the city again. Don’t me wrong, I love Brisbane, but I also tend to go slightly insane when I stay in one place for a certain period of time. Which is maybe also why I am currently considering doing an exchange – although I would only be able to do it in Europe, and I’m not sure if I want to go back to my continent that early. However, I also don’t want to think about having to do homework-like assignments for another 2 years, because let’s face it, I’m a postgrad student, we should have gotten over these.

Apart from concerts, I also got to see Rules of the Game. It’s part of the Brisbane Festival and the music was written by Pharrel Williams, which is the main reason why I wanted to get tickets. Maybe I should have researched a little bit more beforehand because I came to the realization that contemporary dance is not exactly my thing. The music was not too bad, but especially in the beginning it reminded me of the music they played in the House of Terror of Budapest. I’m no going to comment further on that. I usually love all types of dance, but I won’t go back to watch a contemporary piece in the near future. Sorry Pharrell and team.

I hope all of you are doing fantastic, and I will see you again soon!

 

xx, K (:

 

concerts, colds_kairamkairam concerts, colds_kairamkairam concerts, colds_kairamkairam concerts, colds_kairamkairam

What do you think?

