Beetroot Parcels

Ever since arriving in Australia I maintained a rather unhealthy diet. And by that , I mean that I basically ate sugar, carbs, and some more sugar. Being raised by a cook, I know that that is not a good thing to do to your body. While I will not do any drastic changes like becoming vegan all of a sudden or not eating carbs anymore (i become an angry person when I’m hungry, and I am always hungry when I don’t eat a sufficient amount of carbs), I want to make an effort and at least check what I am eating a little bit more again. So I decided to use a vegetable I haven’t been using in quite a while – beetroot! I used to hate the taste of it, but for some weird reason, I’ve started to enjoy eating it some time ago. Plus, the colour is absolutely amazing – just try not to get it on any expensive item of clothing. ;)

 

Ingredients

400 grams beetroot
1 carrot
100 grams feta cheese
3 sheets of puff pastry
oregano, thyme

beetroot parcels_kairamkairam

Preparation

Preheat your oven to 200°C. Then, get rid of the ends of your beetroots. Depending on where you got them from, you might want to peel them but if possible use them with the peel on (more vitamins). As soon as your beetroots are nicely washed, dice them into rather small pieces. Your hands will get red, so if you want to avoid that, wear gloves or something to protect your nice manicure. Put your dices into a large pan, add boiling water until every piece of beetroot is covered and let it simmer until all of the water is gone – make sure to stir occasionally. In the meanwhile, cut your carrot into small pieces and dice your feta. As soon as the water is gone, check if your beetroots are soft. If no, add a little more water and put it back on the stove. If you feel like your beetroots are perfectly edible, take them off the heat and add your carrots and cheese. Add salt and herbs of your choice – mine were thyme and oregano – and mix it all up. Cut your puff pastry in half or whichever form you prefer and put your beetroot-carrot-feta mixture on your puff pasty.When closing your parcels you might want to roll over your ends, just to make sure they stay closed. When you’re done and you’re left with some lovely parcels, add a tiny bit of water on top to get an even better colour and put them in the oven for 10-15 minutes – depending on how brown you like them.

And that’s it. I have to admit, I was very proud of myself for finally cooking something that did not involve pasta or rice, and it was absolutely delicious!

Can’t wait to hear what you think!

xx, K (:

 

beetroot parcels_kairamkairam beetroot parcels_kairamkairam beetroot parcels_kairamkairam

 

What do you think?

