Budapest Blasts

I was looking at old pictures and stumbled upon a few from my trip to Budapest – and then I realized that I never told you about it! Since I absolutely fell in love with the city, I am going to share my experiences with you now, although I was there a few months ago. I’m sure they didn’t change the city too much in the meanwhile. ;)

As with most European cities, the main sights are in the same area and you can easily reach them without having to use any public transport. Budapest is a great city to wander around and simply take in the feeling. To me, it had an amazing vibe to it, a bit like a city much further in the South than it actually is. There’s heaps of nice little bars, especially around Aranykez u. and Kacinczky utca. And then there are the ruin pubs. These “pubs” can be bars, clubs and restaurants and are ruins which have been remodelled into some of the coolest hangout spots of Budapest. My absolute favourites were Anker’t – one of the most unique bars I’ve been too, and apparently the burgers are amazing – and Mazel Tov. Mazel Tov is one of the prettiest places I’ve ever been too, and they offer some fantastic Israeli food, so definitely check it out. Another food place I can highly recommend is Robinson Etterem – it is a little bit on the pricier side, but the food and the view are amazing.

In terms of sights I highly recommend you to just wander around a lot. Explore the area of Heroes’ Square and its surrounding park with the Szechenyi Thermal Bath and the Vajdahunyad Castle. Check out the subway between Heroes’ Square and the Opera – it’s one of the cutest things I’ve ever seen. If you have time and are interested in history, check out the House of Terror – it tought me a lot about the history of Austria’s neighbouring country I didn’t know before. One thing I would highly recommend you to do is taking one of the tours of the Hungarian Parliament. You have to sign up in advance but we got a spot for a tour only 2 hours after we checked the first time, and the tour is definitely worth it – the parliament is one of the prettiest buildings I have ever seen, both on the inside and outside. We also went to the Great Synagogue. It’s the first synagogue I’ve been too, and I found it fascinating. The old town of Budapest still has a lot of Jewish heritage and I loved exploring it as Vienna sadly does not have anything like that anymore. In the evening, go up to the Buda Castle, enjoy one of the delicious kurtos (chimney cakes) and take in the great view of the Budapest “skyline” as the sun goes down.

I absolutely loved Budapest and can’t wait to go back one day, but for now, I’ll try to explore a little bit more of Australia. The memory of travelling makes me want to escape my city for a little while more than ever.

 

xx, K (:

 

dsc00239 dsc00257 dsc00252 dsc00242 dsc00212 dsc00217 dsc00234 dsc00262 dsc00258 dsc00219 dsc00202 dsc00238

What do you think?

