#17 – Under Instruction

It’s swotvac! Well actually, it’s not anymore since I already had my first exam yesterday, but I just wanted to mention this word since I love it and my life at the moment does not really include anything more exciting than loving a word. Finals have me wandering between my couch and my bed (can’t study at the library, too many distractions), ignoring the urge to not do something fun as I would probably feel bad for not studying the whole time but eventually watching Downton Abbey. I was considering writing a post about how to survive your finals, but let’s face it, I’m not good at surviving my own ones, so who am I to give advice to others. My learning process mainly consists out of procrastinating, eating to procrastinate, freaking out and then cramming as much as possible into my head in a ridiculously short time. Worst of all, my attention span lasts about five minutes, so as soon as I go through one slide, I start to google things to do in Bali, and then spend the next 30 minutes on that topic, freaking out becase I am leaving for a three months holiday in a little over two weeks and have basically nothing planned. Just thinking now as I write about it makes me feel a little anxious again.

As you might already have figured out, I should be studying right now. I have a rather big final on Thursday morning, but for some reason since finishing yesterday’s exam I cannot find the motivation to go back to studying. So if anyone has got any tips on how to motivate yourself for studying, please do leave them in the comments, I could seriously need them right now!

Apart from studying, as I briefly mentioned before, I really started to love Downton Abbey. It was a horrible decision to start a new series when I am supposed to be studying, but I cannot change it anymore, right? I’ve always enjoyed history (which is why I chose it for my A levels although everyone was scared of our history teacher’s A level exams), and the series is so well-made that I just cannot stop watching it. The characters all have such interesting stories, are portrayed so well and the customes are just breath-taking. If it would not be 30°C in Queensland at the moment, I would love to run around in their dresses!

Slowly but steadily the weather in Brisbane is becoming the way an uninformed European expects Australian weather to be, and I have to admit I am a little sad that I won’t get to experience the real Brisbane summer as I will be travelling the South during the summer. Fingers crossed we will get an amazing autumn so I get to experience at least some of the warmth once I’m back, and in the meanwhile I’ll try to get as much sun on my balcony during study breaks. Horrible, isn’t it?

In case you also have finals (or midterms) coming up, I wish you all the best, you’re gonna rock it! Otherwise, I just wish you a great week!

xx, K (:

What do you think?

